The Truth about the Orcish Gods
The Truth about the Orcish Gods

The Truth about the Orcish Gods

The Truth about the Orcish Gods

A Legend

Deep in the dawn of time, the Elder Ones created the races of the multiverse, first the gods and in turn, the people. And, the gods gathered the divided up the lands. When the lot fell upon the orcs to be exiled into the wastelands, Gruumsh declared that the elvish gods had cheated, for he desired to slay Corellon Larethian. And, indeed, while it has never been proven, evidence exists implicating the elvish power.

But, Gruumsh was not always the chief deity of the orcs. For, the original orc pantheon consisted of three couples—Gruumsh and Luthic, Kislova and Wisuth, and Ravnost and Nikodalus. Evil, good, and neutrality. In those days, Kislova and Wisuth, the good deities, led the orcs, who free of the over-reaching pride of the elves, the coldness of the dwarves, the folly of the gnomes, the laziness of the halflings and the pettiness of the humans, were the beloved of creation. And the orcs were at that time popular with the other races, save only the elves. The heart of the orcish race beat strong and pure, symbolized by the great gem in the heart of Kislova’s realm.

Ambitious, evil Gruumsh one day whispered to someone with interests in weakening the orcs, how much better things would be if he were in charge. And with a little help, Gruumsh overthrew his betters, slaying Ravnost, crippling Nikodalus, and working black magics to corrupt the great gem that held the heart of the orcish race. This black and twisted piece of dagger-glass and searing metal rests deep in Nishrek today, seared by the black work of Gruumsh’s most fanatic disciples. Today, the orcs are the culmination of Gruumsh’s thousands of years of twisting. Nearly forgotten, the good orcish powers are largely fading. Remembered and venerated on a very few Prime worlds, the realms of these once noble powers are slowly overcome in floods of tears.

True Orcish Powers

  • Baalibastus (power of love, beauty and passion)
  • Dur-Shuk (power of joy, friendship, art and creativity)
  • Kislova (power of light, kindness and life)
  • Nikodalus (power of family, protection, war and age)
  • Ravnost (power of diplomacy, understanding, trade) [dead]
  • Wisuth (power of justice, courage, honour and war)
  • Zurrog (power of wisdom, transcendence and knowledge)

Source: Chris “Orc-Friend” Nichols, original article here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *